Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Just Kidding. Not Really. Okay, so I’m not an actual model, but I have a lot of friends who are! And I have friends who are photographers for relatively prominent brands as well (humble bragging, yes, yes).

It just so happens that Sunday night, one of my model friends (Liberty) asked me if I wanted to be part of a new shoot for the Summer Campaign of an Energy Drink brand (can’t really tell you which one until they release their summer product…haha sorry). Basically, our photographer friend (Kiersten) works for the Energy Drink company and needed girls for this shoot. 

As part of my Year of Yes (even though I am in no way a model) I said of course! Plus, I wanted to help my girl Liberty out, ya know. Anyways, after texting back and forth with Kiersten- I finally picked an outfit (actually I picked two but I wore the first outfit for the first half of the shoot and the second outfit for the second half of the shoot). 

The general vibe that I was given was basically “Coachella” theme. Except Coachella is not my aesthetic and I didn’t go to Coachella so I didn’t have outfits ready for that occasion. So this is my basic interpretation. My style is pretty minimalistic and for any of you who have been to Coachella, the festival is anything but time to be minimalistic. 

*I wish I had pictures for you guys but I didn’t have time during the shoot to just take photos of my outfits alone-we were honestly running around everywhere. 

So the two outfits were: 

  • White V-Neck (distressed and with choker) from HoneyPunch and Jean Shorts from Madewell
  • Off the Shoulder, White and Blue Striped Shirt from Bloomingdales and Jean Overalls from Madewell
  • Diamond and Gold Bar Necklace from Kate Spade
  • Adidas Super Stars 
  • Socks: Fuzzy blue and white stripped from Target 🙂 

Now for makeup. Here’s a list of the products I used. 

  • MAC Prep + Prime (primer)
  • Josie Maran Vibrancy Oil (foundation)
  • Clarins Instant Light Concealer 
  • Hourglass Ambient Lighting Powder in Dim Light (setting powder) 
  • Benefit Hoola Bronzer (contour) 
  • NARS Blush in Orgasm 
  • Nudies Nudestix All Over Face Color Glow in Hey, Honey (Highlighter #1)
  • MAC Mineralize Skin Finish in Soft and Gentle (Highlighter #2) 
  • Too Faced Chocolate Bar Eyeshadow Palette (just the milk chocolate shade in the crease) 
  • Bourjois Liner Feutre in Noir 
  • Charlotte Tilbury Full Fat Lashes 5 Star Mascara in Glossy Black 
  • Kevyn Aucoin Eyelash Curler 
  • Anastasia Brow Whiz in Dark Brown 
  • Charlotte Tilbury Lip Liner in Pillow Talk
  • Charlotte Tilbury Matte Revolution Lipstick in Very Victoria 

I know, it’s a lot of makeup. But when I actually put it on it didn’t look like I was wearing a lot of makeup-it was basically a bunch of my skin/my lips/my face but better vibes. Except that I wore a lot of highlighter, because I’m a highlighter fiend, to the point it looked like I was dripping. 

Okay, also let’s just talk about how I started my day by only eating a salad. I didn’t want to bloat during the shoot and I thought a salad would be a good idea. In hindsight now that I’m writing this–a salad is not a good idea. You’re going to be so hungry and so exhausted by the end–so for any of you actually thinking of doing a photoshoot or are real models…EAT SOMETHING. A salad almost killed me in terms of survival level. 

The photoshoot took place mainly in Downtown Los Angeles. The drive wasn’t too bad despite the fact that we were leaving campus around 5 PM and traffic was kind of hectic. But we (the group of girls and photographer-Kiersten) survived! I have so behind the scenes photos for y’all and here they are: 

DS

Honestly, I can see why Cara Delevingne needed an IV drip during Fashion Week for exhaustion. Because after 3 hours, I was ready to plop on the floor and just pass out. People don’t seem to realize how exhausting doing a photoshoot actually is. You’re standing outside most of the time, braving the elements (even though we’re only in SoCal, but like for real models who have to go to extreme places-YIKES), and walking around doing random poses that the photographer wants. It takes a certain kind of stamina that I thought I had but apparently I don’t. 

Try it. You’ll be surprised how exhausted you are by the end of it. 

Overall, it was a pretty fun experience. I met some really awesome/ chill girls at the shoot and the photographer (Kiersten) was super nice and she is super talented.  While I definitely wouldn’t do this long-term (not only do I not have the physical aesthetics for it but I also don’t have the stamina), it was a fun experience! 

Once the Energy Drink company comes out with their Summer campaign commercial, I will definitely be posting the photos so stay tuned for June!  

SIDE NOTE: Once I got back to my apartment, I cooked a BIG bowl of bolognese pasta and ate it all. I also passed out from a food coma after that so now I have a bunch of work to do…YAY ME!